Skip site navigation (1)Skip section navigation (2)

FreeBSD Manual Pages

  
 
  

home | help
policyeditor(1)		    General Commands Manual	       policyeditor(1)

NAME
       policyeditor  - view and	modify security	policy settings	for javaws and
       the browser plugin

SYNOPSIS
       policyeditor
       policyeditor [-file] policy_file

DESCRIPTION
       policyeditor is a GUI application with small command  line  support  to
       view  and  edit applet security policy settings used by the IcedTea-Web
       implementation of javaws	and the	browser	plugin.	 It is intended	 as  a
       simpler,	easier to use, and more	accessible alternative to the standard
       JDK Policy Tool.	 Administrators	and power users	who need fine  grained
       control	over  policy  files should probably use	Policy Tool instead of
       PolicyEditor.

       If executed without any arguments, no file is opened,  and  saving  the
       file  will result in a prompt on	where to save it. Otherwise, if	a file
       path is given as	a command line argument, then that file	path  will  be
       opened and parsed as policy file.

OPTIONS
       -codebase url
		   Specifies an	applet codebase	URL. This can be used with the
		   other selector options to select a policy entry upon	 open-
		   ing	the  editor; if	no such	identifier exists then it will
		   be created and  then	 selected.(Exactly  one	 argument  ex-
		   pected)

       -defaultfile
		   Specifies that the default user-level policy	file should be
		   opened. This	is the file which is normally used by IcedTea-
		   Web to make decisions about custom policies and permissions
		   for applets at runtime, unless configured otherwise.(No ar-
		   gument expected)

       -file policy_file
		   Specifies  a	policy file path to open. If exactly one argu-
		   ment	is given, and it is not	this flag, it  is  interpreted
		   as  a  file	path to	open, as if this flag was given	first.
		   This	flag  exists  mostly  for  compatibility  with	Policy
		   Tool.(Exactly one argument expected)

       -help	   Prints  out	information  about supported command and basic
		   usage.(No argument expected)

       -principals class_name principal_name
		   Specifies class name/principal name pairs (space-separated)
		   for	the policy entry identifier. This can be used with the
		   other selector options to select a policy entry upon	 open-
		   ing	the  editor; if	no such	identifier exists then it will
		   be created and then selected.(Expected even number of argu-
		   ments with param=value as valid argument)

       -signedby certificate_alias
		   Specifies  a	 certificate alias for a certificate stored in
		   the keystore. This can be used with the other selector  op-
		   tions  to select a policy entry upon	opening	the editor; if
		   no such identifier exists then it will be created and  then
		   selected.(Exactly one argument expected)

       -verbose	   Enable verbose output.(No argument expected)

EXAMPLES
       policyeditor
		   Show	the GUI	editor with no file opened.

       policyeditor -file $XDG_CONFIG_HOME/icedtea-web/security/java.policy
		   Show	GUI and	opens the default policy file.

FILES
       $XDG_CACHE_HOME/icedtea-web/cache/recently_used
		   Additional information about	items in cache

       $XDG_CONFIG_HOME/icedtea-web/security/java.policy
		   Contains  granted  permissions  for selected	unsigned apps.
		   Controlled by deployment.user.security.policy

       Where $XDG_CONFIG_DIR, $XDG_CACHE_DIR and $XDG_RUNTIME_DIR are  set  as
       ~/.config, ~/.cache and /tmp or /var/tmp	if not set.

BUGS
       There aren't any	known bugs. If you come	across one, please file	it at:
       http://icedtea.classpath.org/wiki/IcedTea-Web#Filing_bugs
       http://icedtea.classpath.org/bugzilla

       Please  run  in	debug  (-verbose  switch  or  itw-settings  setting or
       ICEDTEAPLUGIN_DEBUG variable set	to true) mode and include that	output
       (best  is  from	java  console)	with  URL to jnlp or html file (or the
       jnlp/html file or  application itself) when filing out the bug report.

AUTHOR
       The following people have made contibutions to this project.
       Please keep this	list in	alphabetical order.
       Lillian	 Angel	  <langel@redhat.com>Andrew    Azores	 <aazores@red-
       hat.com>Deepak  Bhole <dbhole@redhat.com>Laurent	BourgA"s <bourges.lau-
       rent@gmail.com>Adam Buchta <adbuch7@gmail.com>Ricardo  MartAn  Camarero
       <rickyepoderi@yahoo.es>Marcin  Cieslak <marcin.cieslak@gmail.com>Danesh
       Dadachanji     <ddadacha@redhat.com>Adam	    Domurad	<adomurad@red-
       hat.com>Lukasz	   Dracz     <ldracz@redhat.com>Thomas	   Fitzsimmons
       <fitzsim@redhat.com>Olesya   Gerasimenko	   <gammaray@basealt.ru>MichaA
       GA^3rny	<mgorny@gentoo.org>Mark	 Greenwood <mark@dcs.shef.ac.uk>Tereza
       Hlavackova  <hlavackova.tereza@gmail.com>Lars  Herschke	 <lhersch@dss-
       gmbh.de>Peter	Hatina	  <phatina@redhat.com>Andrew	John	Hughes
       <ahughes@redhat.com>Jie	  Kang	  <jkang@redhat.com>Alex    Kashchenko
       <akashche@redhat.com>Matthias  Klose  <doko@ubuntu.com>Alexandr Kolouch
       <skolnag@gmail.com>Jan  Kmetko  <jan.kmetko.ml@gmail.com>Francis	  Kung
       <fkung@redhat.com>Denis	 Lila	<dlila@redhat.com>DJ  Lucas  <dj@luca-
       sit.com>Omair	 Majid	   <omajid@redhat.com>Jon      A.      Maxwell
       <jmaxwell@users.sourceforge.net>Thomas	 Meyer	 <thomas@m3y3r.de>Kurt
       Miller	<kurt@intricatesoftware.com>Saad   Mohammad    <smohammad@red-
       hat.com>Martin  Olsson	<martin@minimum.se>Stefan  Ring	  <stefan@com-
       plang.tuwien.ac.at>Ville	 SkyttAx  <ville.skytta@iki.fi>Fridrich	 Strba
       <fridrich.strba@suse.com>Andrew	  Su   <asu@redhat.com>Joshua	Sumali
       <jsumali@redhat.com>Joel	  Tesdall   <jtesdall@mapcon.com>Michal	  Vala
       <mvala@redhat.com>Jiri  Vanek <jvanek@redhat.com>TomA!A!	Votava <tomca-
       colca@gmail.com>Mark Wielaard <mark@klomp.org>Jacob  Wisor   <gitne@ex-
       cite.co.jp>Man Lung Wong	<mwong@redhat.com>
       This project also includes code from the	following projects:
       OpenJDK <http://openjdk.java.net/>
       Netx <http://jnlp.sourceforge.net/netx/>

SEE ALSO
       icedtea-web(1)  javaws(1) icedtea-web-plugin(1) itweb-settings(1) poli-
       cyeditor(1) policytool(1) java(1)

       http://icedtea.classpath.org/wiki/IcedTea-Web
       http://icedtea.classpath.org/hg/icedtea-web

icedtea-web 1.8.4		  28 Aug 2020		       policyeditor(1)

NAME | SYNOPSIS | DESCRIPTION | OPTIONS | EXAMPLES | FILES | BUGS | AUTHOR | SEE ALSO

Want to link to this manual page? Use this URL:
<https://www.freebsd.org/cgi/man.cgi?query=itweb-policyeditor&sektion=1&manpath=FreeBSD+12.2-RELEASE+and+Ports>

home | help