Skip site navigation (1)Skip section navigation (2)

FreeBSD Manual Pages

  
 
  

home | help
icedtea-web(1)		    General Commands Manual		icedtea-web(1)

NAME
       icedtea-web provides a Free Software web	browser	plugin running applets
       written in the Java programming language	and an implementation of  Java
       Web Start, originally based on the NetX project.

       NetX  allows  Java  applets  and	applications to	be downloaded over the
       network,	cached,	and (by	default) run in	a secure sandbox  environment.
       Subsequent  runs	 of  the  applet download the latest version automati-
       cally. Update and security settings, among others, can be set using the
       itw-settings command.
       icedtea-web   also   includes   a   plugin   to	 enable	 Java  applets
       (http://www.java.com/en/download/testjava.jsp) within web browsers.

       Names and email addresses of contributors to this project can be	 found
       in the file AUTHORS in the IcedTea-Web root directory.

       The full	GPLv2 license of this project can be found in the file COPYING
       in the IcedTea-Web root directory.

       News about releases of this project can be found	in the	file  NEWS  in
       the IcedTea-Web root directory.

DESCRIPTION
       NetX features:

       Modular	   Easily add JNLP capabilities	to an application.

       Saves Memory
		   Launch programs in a	shared JVM.

       Fast startup
		   Runs	applications from a cache for fast starting.

       Security	   Run any application in a sandbox or log its activities.

       Auto-Update Applications	can auto-update	without	special	code.

       Network Deployment
		   Deploy to the internet, not with installers.

       Open Source GNU Lesser General Public License.

       Visit	 the	 IcedTea     project	wiki	(http://icedtea.class-
       path.org/wiki/Main_Page)	  or   specifically   the   IcedTea-Web	  home
       (http://icedtea.classpath.org/wiki/IcedTea-Web) pages for more informa-
       tion.
       Help  with  common  issues  with	 IcedTea-Web   can   be	  found	  here
       (http://icedtea.classpath.org/wiki/IcedTea-Web#Common_Issues) .

       Contributing:

       A   QuickStart  (http://icedtea.classpath.org/wiki/DeveloperQuickStart)
       guide for the IcedTea project is	available on the wiki.

       Code  style  (http://icedtea.classpath.org/wiki/IcedTea-Web#Code_style)
       guidelines      and	Eclipse	     setup	(http://icedtea.class-
       path.org/wiki/IcedTea-Web/DevelopingWithEclipse)	   instructions	   for
       IcedTea-Web  are	 available  as	well. Patches should be	accompanied by
       unit tests and reproducers (http://icedtea.classpath.org/wiki/Reproduc-
       ers)   before   being  sent  to	the  mailing  list  (http://mail.open-
       jdk.java.net/mailman/listinfo/distro-pkg-dev)

BUGS
       There aren't any	known bugs. If you come	across one, please file	it at:
       http://icedtea.classpath.org/wiki/IcedTea-Web#Filing_bugs
       http://icedtea.classpath.org/bugzilla

       Please run  in  debug  (-verbose	 switch	 or  itw-settings  setting  or
       ICEDTEAPLUGIN_DEBUG  variable set to true) mode and include that	output
       (best is	from java console) with	URL to	jnlp  or  html	file  (or  the
       jnlp/html file or  application itself) when filing out the bug report.

AUTHOR
       The following people have made contibutions to this project.
       Please keep this	list in	alphabetical order.
       Lillian	  Angel	   <langel@redhat.com>Andrew	Azores	 <aazores@red-
       hat.com>Deepak Bhole <dbhole@redhat.com>Laurent BourgA"s	 <bourges.lau-
       rent@gmail.com>Adam  Buchta  <adbuch7@gmail.com>Ricardo MartAn Camarero
       <rickyepoderi@yahoo.es>Marcin Cieslak  <marcin.cieslak@gmail.com>Danesh
       Dadachanji     <ddadacha@redhat.com>Adam	    Domurad	<adomurad@red-
       hat.com>Lukasz	  Dracz	    <ldracz@redhat.com>Thomas	   Fitzsimmons
       <fitzsim@redhat.com>Olesya    Gerasimenko   <gammaray@basealt.ru>MichaA
       GA^3rny <mgorny@gentoo.org>Mark	Greenwood  <mark@dcs.shef.ac.uk>Tereza
       Hlavackova   <hlavackova.tereza@gmail.com>Lars  Herschke	 <lhersch@dss-
       gmbh.de>Peter	Hatina	  <phatina@redhat.com>Andrew	John	Hughes
       <ahughes@redhat.com>Jie	  Kang	  <jkang@redhat.com>Alex    Kashchenko
       <akashche@redhat.com>Matthias Klose  <doko@ubuntu.com>Alexandr  Kolouch
       <skolnag@gmail.com>Jan	Kmetko	<jan.kmetko.ml@gmail.com>Francis  Kung
       <fkung@redhat.com>Denis	Lila  <dlila@redhat.com>DJ   Lucas   <dj@luca-
       sit.com>Omair	  Majid	     <omajid@redhat.com>Jon	A.     Maxwell
       <jmaxwell@users.sourceforge.net>Thomas	Meyer	 <thomas@m3y3r.de>Kurt
       Miller	 <kurt@intricatesoftware.com>Saad   Mohammad   <smohammad@red-
       hat.com>Martin  Olsson	<martin@minimum.se>Stefan  Ring	  <stefan@com-
       plang.tuwien.ac.at>Ville	 SkyttAx  <ville.skytta@iki.fi>Fridrich	 Strba
       <fridrich.strba@suse.com>Andrew	 Su   <asu@redhat.com>Joshua	Sumali
       <jsumali@redhat.com>Joel	  Tesdall   <jtesdall@mapcon.com>Michal	  Vala
       <mvala@redhat.com>Jiri Vanek <jvanek@redhat.com>TomA!A! Votava  <tomca-
       colca@gmail.com>Mark  Wielaard  <mark@klomp.org>Jacob Wisor  <gitne@ex-
       cite.co.jp>Man Lung Wong	<mwong@redhat.com>
       This project also includes code from the	following projects:
       OpenJDK <http://openjdk.java.net/>
       Netx <http://jnlp.sourceforge.net/netx/>

SEE ALSO
       icedtea-web(1) javaws(1)	icedtea-web-plugin(1) itweb-settings(1)	 poli-
       cyeditor(1) policytool(1) java(1)

       http://icedtea.classpath.org/wiki/IcedTea-Web
       http://icedtea.classpath.org/hg/icedtea-web

icedtea-web 1.8.4		  28 Aug 2020			icedtea-web(1)

NAME | DESCRIPTION | BUGS | AUTHOR | SEE ALSO

Want to link to this manual page? Use this URL:
<https://www.freebsd.org/cgi/man.cgi?query=icedtea-web&sektion=1&manpath=FreeBSD+12.1-RELEASE+and+Ports>

home | help