Skip site navigation (1)Skip section navigation (2)

FreeBSD Manual Pages

  
 
  

home | help
git-annex-sync(1)	    General Commands Manual	     git-annex-sync(1)

NAME
       git-annex-sync -	synchronize local repository with remotes

SYNOPSIS
       git annex sync [remote ...]

DESCRIPTION
       This command synchronizes the local repository with its remotes.

       The  sync  process involves first committing any	local changes to files
       that have previously been added to the repository,  then	 fetching  and
       merging	the  current  branch  and the git-annex	branch from the	remote
       repositories, and finally pushing the changes back to those branches on
       the  remote  repositories. You can use standard git commands to do each
       of those	steps by hand, or if you don't want to	worry  about  the  de-
       tails, you can use sync.

       The content of annexed objects is not synced by default,	but the	--con-
       tent option (see	below) can make	that also be synchronized.

       When using git-annex, often remotes are not bare	repositories,  because
       it's helpful to add remotes for nearby machines that you	want to	access
       the same	annexed	content. Syncing with a	non-bare remote	will not  nor-
       mally  update  the  remote's current branch with	changes	from the local
       repository. (Unless the remote is configured with  receive.denyCurrent-
       Branch=updateInstead.)

       To make working with such non-bare remotes easier, sync pushes not only
       local master to remote master, but also to  remote  synced/master  (and
       similar	with  other branches). When git-annex sync is later run	on the
       remote, it will merge the synced/ branches that the repository has  re-
       ceived.

OPTIONS
       [remote]

	      By default, all remotes are synced, except for remotes that have
	      remote.<name>.annex-sync set to false. By	specifying  the	 names
	      of  remotes  (or	remote	groups), you can control which ones to
	      sync with.

       --fast Only sync	with the remotes with the lowest annex-cost value con-
	      figured.

	      When  a list of remotes (or remote groups) is provided, it picks
	      from amoung those, otherwise it picks from amoung	all remotes.

       --only-annex -a,	--not-only-annex
	      Only sync	the git-annex branch and annexed content with remotes,
	      not other	git branches.

	      This  avoids  pulling  and pushing other branches, and it	avoids
	      committing any local changes. It's up to you to use regular  git
	      commands to do that.

	      The annex.synconlyannex configuration can	be set to true to make
	      this be the default behavior of git-annex	sync. To override such
	      a	setting, use --not-only-annex.

	      When  this  is  combined	with  --no-content, only the git-annex
	      branch will be synced.

       --commit, --no-commit
	      A	commit is done by default (unless annex.autocommit is  set  to
	      false).

	      Use --no-commit to avoid committing local	changes.

       --message=msg
	      Use this option to specify a commit message.

       --pull, --no-pull
	      By  default,  syncing  pulls  from remotes and imports from some
	      special remotes. Use --no-pull to	disable	all pulling.

	      When remote.<name>.annex-pull  or	 remote.<name>.annex-sync  are
	      set  to  false, pulling is disabled for those remotes, and using
	      --pull will not enable it.

       --push, --no-push
	      By default, syncing pushes changes to  remotes  and  exports  to
	      some special remotes. Use	--no-push to disable all pushing.

	      When  remote.<name>.annex-push  or  remote.<name>.annex-sync are
	      set to false, or remote.<name>.annex-readonly is	set  to	 true,
	      pushing is disabled for those remotes, and using --push will not
	      enable it.

       --content, --no-content
	      Normally,	syncing	does not  transfer  the	 contents  of  annexed
	      files.  The --content option causes the content of annexed files
	      to also be uploaded and downloaded as necessary.

	      The annex.synccontent configuration can be set to	true  to  make
	      content be synced	by default.

	      Normally	this  tries  to	 get  each annexed file	that is	in the
	      working tree and whose content the local repository does not yet
	      have, and	then copies each file to every remote that it is sync-
	      ing with.	 This behavior can be overridden  by  configuring  the
	      preferred	 content of a repository. See git-annex-preferred-con-
	      tent(1).

	      When remote.<name>.annex-tracking-branch	is  configured	for  a
	      special  remote and that branch is checked out, syncing will im-
	      port changes from	the remote, merge them into  the  branch,  and
	      export  any  changes that	have been committed to the branch back
	      to the remote. See  See  git-annex-import(1)  and	 git-annex-ex-
	      port(1) for details about	how importing and exporting work.

       --content-of=path -C path
	      While  --content operates	on all annexed files, --content-of al-
	      lows limiting the	transferred files to ones in a given location.

	      This option can be repeated multiple times with different	paths.

       --all -A
	      This option, when	combined with --content, makes	all  available
	      versions of all files be synced, when preferred content settings
	      allow.

	      Note that	preferred content settings that	use  include=  or  ex-
	      clude=  will  only  match	 the version of	files currently	in the
	      work tree, but not past versions of files.

       --jobs=N	-JN
	      Enables parallel syncing with up to the specified	number of jobs
	      running at once. For example: -J10

	      Setting this to "cpus" will run one job per CPU core.

	      When there are multiple git remotes, pushes will be made to them
	      in parallel. Pulls are not done in parallel because  that	 tends
	      to  be  less  efficient. When --content is synced, the files are
	      processed	in parallel as well.

       --resolvemerge, --no-resolvemerge
	      By default, merge	conflicts are automatically handled  by	 sync.
	      When  two	 conflicting  versions	of a file have been committed,
	      both will	be added to the	tree, under different  filenames.  For
	      example,	file  "foo" would be replaced with "foo.variant-A" and
	      "foo.variant-B". (See git-annex-resolvemerge(1) for details.)

	      Use --no-resolvemerge to disable this automatic  merge  conflict
	      resolution.  It  can  also be disabled by	setting	annex.resolve-
	      merge to false.

       --cleanup
	      Removes the local	and remote synced/ branches, which  were  cre-
	      ated and pushed by git-annex sync.

	      This  can	 come  in handy	when you've synced a change to remotes
	      and now want to  reset  your  master  branch  back  before  that
	      change. So you run git reset and force-push the master branch to
	      remotes, only to find that the next git annex merge or git annex
	      sync  brings  the	 changes  back.	Why? Because the synced/master
	      branch is	hanging	around and still has the change	in it.	Clean-
	      ing up the synced/ branches prevents that	problem.

SEE ALSO
       git-annex(1)

       git-annex-preferred-content(1)

AUTHOR
       Joey Hess <id@joeyh.name>

							     git-annex-sync(1)

NAME | SYNOPSIS | DESCRIPTION | OPTIONS | SEE ALSO | AUTHOR

Want to link to this manual page? Use this URL:
<https://www.freebsd.org/cgi/man.cgi?query=git-annex-sync&sektion=1&manpath=FreeBSD+12.2-RELEASE+and+Ports>

home | help