Skip site navigation (1)Skip section navigation (2)

FreeBSD Manual Pages

  
 
  

home | help
EMPIRE(6)			 Games Manual			     EMPIRE(6)

NAME
       empire -	Empire client

SYNOPSIS
       empire  [-hkruv]	 [-2  outfile] [-H histfile] [-s [host:]port] [country
       [password]]

DESCRIPTION
       empire is a bare	bones client to	connect	to the Empire server.	Empire
       is  a  global economic/political/military simulation game wherein play-
       ers, representing national governments, make "real-time"	decisions con-
       cerning	resource  allocation, national goals, international diplomatic
       efforts,	etc.  Extensive	records	are kept for all players.

       WARNING -- This game is not only	addictive but  often  peels  back  the
       thin veneer of civilization that	hides the maniac within.

OPTIONS
       -h     Help.  Print brief usage information and exit.

       -H histfile
	      Load  command  history from histfile, and	save it	back.  Default
	      is '~/.empire_history' without -r, and none with -r.  You	 might
	      want to protect your history file	from prying eyes.

	      Only available when compiled the GNU readline library.

       -k     If someone else is connected to your country, kill their connec-
	      tion.

       -r     Restricted mode: disable redirections and	execute	command.  This
	      is useful	when you want to grant somebody	access to just Empire,
	      but not to the host system's user	account	that runs the  client.
	      Be careful with -H and -2	then.

       -s [host:]port
	      Specify server host and port.

       -u     Use UTF-8	rather than ASCII character set.

	      This  requires  server  version  4.2.21 or later,	and a terminal
	      that understands UTF-8.

       -v     Print version information	and exit.

       -2 outfile
	      Append log of session to outfile.

OPERANDS
       country
	      The name of your country in the game.

       password
	      The password for your country in the game.  Warning:  the	 pass-
	      word passed here is visible to other users on the	same machine!

ENVIRONMENT VARIABLES
       The following environment variables affect the execution	of the client:

       EMPIREHOST
	      Specifies	 the  host  to connect to, i.e.	where the server runs.
	      Only effective if	no host	specified via -s.

       EMPIREPORT
	      Specifies	the port number	or service name	to connect  to.	  Only
	      effective	if no port specified via -s.

       COUNTRY
	      The name of your country in the game.

       PLAYER The  password  for  your country in the game, also known as your
	      representative.

       LOGNAME
	      Your user	name.

       INPUTRC
	      The filename for the readline startup file, overriding  the  de-
	      fault of ~/.inputrc (see READLINE	below).

READLINE
       When  compiled with the GNU readline library, the client	supports fancy
       line editing and	persistent history.  Its application name for applica-
       tion-specific  settings	is Empire.  See	the readline documentation for
       details.

SEE ALSO
       emp_server(6), readline(3).

FILES
       ~/.inputrc
	      Individual readline initialization file

AUTHORS
       Primary Author is Dave Pare <mr-frog@scam.berkeley.edu>
       Secondary authors/contributors may include:
       James Anderson <jwa@k.cs.cmu.edu>
       Jeff Anton <anton@postgres.berkeley.edu>
       Markus Armbruster <armbru@pond.sub.org>
       Phill Everson <everson@compsci.bristol.ac.uk>
       Steven Grimm <koreth@ucscb.UCSC.EDU>
       Martin Haukeli <martin.haukeli@gmail.com>
       Lewis R.	Jansen <lrj@helios.tn.cornell.edu>
       Mike St.	Johns <stjohns@edn-vax.arpa>
       Ron Koenderink <rkoenderink@yahoo.ca>
       Nick Lai	<lai@cs.ucla.edu>
       Shelley Louie <slouie@cory.berekely.edu>
       Steve McClure <ionica@empire.cx>
       Chris Metcalf <metcalf-christopher@yale.arpa>
       Dave Muir Sharnoff <muir@cogsci.berkeley.edu>
       Keith Muller <muller@sdcc7.ucsd.edu>
       Chuck Musciano <chuck@trantor.harris-atd.com>
       Jeff Okamoto <okamoto%hpccc@hplabs.hp.com>
       Julian Onions <jpo@computer-science.nottingham.ac.uk>
       Kurt Pires <kjpires@ic.berkeley.edu>
       Jim Reuter <reuter@decwrl.dec.com>
       Peter Vukovich <peterv@monet.berkeley.edu>
       Jeff Wallace <jeffw@scam.berkeley.edu>
       John Yockey <johny@verinet.com>

								     EMPIRE(6)

NAME | SYNOPSIS | DESCRIPTION | OPTIONS | OPERANDS | ENVIRONMENT VARIABLES | READLINE | SEE ALSO | FILES | AUTHORS

Want to link to this manual page? Use this URL:
<https://www.freebsd.org/cgi/man.cgi?query=empire&sektion=6&manpath=FreeBSD+13.0-RELEASE+and+Ports>

home | help