Skip site navigation (1)Skip section navigation (2)

FreeBSD Manual Pages


home | help
Agent::Priorities(3)  User Contributed Perl Documentation Agent::Priorities(3)

       Log::Agent::Priorities -	conversion between syslog priorities and

	Not intended to	be used	directly

       This package contains routines to convert between syslog	priorities and
       logging levels: level_from_prio("crit") yields 2, and
       prio_from_level(4) yields "warning", as does prio_from_level(5).

       Here are	the known priorities (which may	be abbreviated to the first 2
       letters,	in a case-insensitive manner) and their	corresponding logging

	     Name    Level   Traditional    Export
	   --------- -----  --------------  ------
	   none	      -1		    NONE    (special, see text)
	   emergency   0    (emerg, panic)  EMERG
	   alert       1		    ALERT
	   critical    2    (crit)	    CRIT
	   error       3    (err)	    ERROR
	   warning     4		    WARN
	   notice      6		    NOTICE
	   info	       8		    INFO
	   debug       10		    DEBUG

       The values between parenthesis show the traditional syslog priority
       tokens.	The missing levels (5, 7, 9) are there for possible extension.
       They currently map to the level immediately below.

       The Export column lists the symbolic constants defined by this package.
       They can	be imported selectively, or alltogether	via the	":LEVELS" tag,
       as in:

	   use Log::Agent::Priorities qw(:LEVELS);

       The special token "none"	may be used (and spelled out fully) on special
       occasions: it maps to -1, and is	convenient when	specifying a logging
       level, for instance: specifying "none" ensures that no logging will
       take place, even	for emergency situations.

       Anywhere	where a	priority is expected, one may specify a	number taken
       as a logging level or a string taken as a priority. If the default
       mapping outlined	above is not satisfactory, it can be redefined by
       specifying, for instance	"notice:9". It will be taken as	being of level
       9, but with a "notice" priority nonetheless, not	"info" as it would
       have been implicitely determined	otherwise.

       The routine priority_level() decompiles "notice:9" into ("notice", 9),
       and otherwise uses prio_from_level() or level_from_prio() to compute
       the missing informatin.	For instance, given "critical",
       priority_level()	routine	will return the	tuple ("critical", 2).

       Raphael Manfredi	_Raphael_Manfredi@pobox.com_

       Log::Agent(3), Log::Agent::Logger(3).

perl v5.32.1			  2021-04-12		  Agent::Priorities(3)


Want to link to this manual page? Use this URL:

home | help