Skip site navigation (1)Skip section navigation (2)

FreeBSD Manual Pages

  
 
  

home | help
Dist::Zilla(3)	      User Contributed Perl Documentation	Dist::Zilla(3)

NAME
       Dist::Zilla - distribution builder; installer not included!

VERSION
       version 6.020

DESCRIPTION
       Dist::Zilla builds distributions	of code	to be uploaded to the CPAN.
       In this respect,	it is like ExtUtils::MakeMaker,	Module::Build, or
       Module::Install.	 Unlike	those tools, however, it is not	also a system
       for installing code that	has been downloaded from the CPAN.  Since it's
       only run	by authors, and	is meant to be run on a	repository checkout
       rather than on published, released code,	it can do much more than those
       tools, and is free to make much more ludicrous demands in terms of
       prerequisites.

       If you have access to the web, you can learn more and find an
       interactive tutorial at dzil.org	<http://dzil.org/>.  If	not, try
       Dist::Zilla::Tutorial.

PERL VERSION SUPPORT
       This module has the same	support	period as perl itself:	it supports
       the two most recent versions of perl.  (That is,	if the most recently
       released	version	is v5.40, then this module should work on both v5.40
       and v5.38.)

       Although	it may work on older versions of perl, no guarantee is made
       that the	minimum	required version will not be increased.	 The version
       may be increased	for any	reason,	and there is no	promise	that patches
       will be accepted	to lower the minimum required perl.

ATTRIBUTES
   name
       The name	attribute (which is required) gives the	name of	the
       distribution to be built.  This is usually the name of the
       distribution's main module, with	the double colons ("::") replaced with
       dashes.	For example: "Dist-Zilla".

   version
       This is the version of the distribution to be created.

   release_status
       This attribute sets the release status to one of	the CPAN::META::Spec
       <https://metacpan.org/pod/CPAN::Meta::Spec#release_status> values:
       'stable', 'testing' or 'unstable'.

       If the $ENV{RELEASE_STATUS} environment variable	exists,	its value will
       be used as the release status.

       For backwards compatibility, if $ENV{RELEASE_STATUS} does not exist and
       the $ENV{TRIAL} variable	is true, the release status will be 'testing'.

       Otherwise, the release status will be set from a	ReleaseStatusProvider,
       if one has been configured.

       For backwards compatibility, setting "is_trial" true in dist.ini	is
       equivalent to using a "ReleaseStatusProvider".  If "is_trial" is	false,
       it has no effect.

       Only one	"ReleaseStatusProvider"	may be used.

       If no providers are used, the release status defaults to	'stable'
       unless there is an "_" character	in the version,	in which case, it
       defaults	to 'testing'.

   abstract
       This is a one-line summary of the distribution.	If none	is given, one
       will be looked for in the "main_module" of the dist.

   main_module
       This is the module where	Dist::Zilla might look for various defaults,
       like the	distribution abstract.	By default, it's derived from the
       distribution name.  If your distribution	is Foo-Bar, and	lib/Foo/Bar.pm
       exists, that's the main_module.	Otherwise, it's	the shortest-named
       module in the distribution.  This may change!

       You can override	the default by specifying the file path	explicitly,
       ie:

	 main_module = lib/Foo/Bar.pm

   license
       This is the Software::License object for	this dist's license and
       copyright.

       It will be created automatically, if possible, with the
       "copyright_holder" and "copyright_year" attributes.  If necessary, it
       will try	to guess the license from the POD of the dist's	main module.

       A better	option is to set the "license" name in the dist's config to
       something understandable, like "Perl_5".

   authors
       This is an arrayref of author strings, like this:

	 [
	   'Ricardo Signes <rjbs@cpan.org>',
	   'X. Ample, Jr <example@example.biz>',
	 ]

       This is likely to change	at some	point in the near future.

   files
       This is an arrayref of objects implementing Dist::Zilla::Role::File
       that will, if left in this arrayref, be built into the dist.

       Non-core	code should avoid altering this	arrayref, but sometimes	there
       is not other way	to change the list of files.  In the future, the
       representation used for storing files will be changed.

   root
       This is the root	directory of the dist, as a Path::Tiny.	 It will
       nearly always be	the current working directory in which "dzil" was run.

   is_trial
       This attribute tells us whether or not the dist will be a trial
       release,	i.e. whether it	has "release_status" 'testing' or 'unstable'.

       Do not set this directly, it will be derived from "release_status".

   plugins
       This is an arrayref of plugins that have	been plugged into this
       Dist::Zilla object.

       Non-core	code must not alter this arrayref.  Public access to this
       attribute may go	away in	the future.

   distmeta
       This is a hashref containing the	metadata about this distribution that
       will be stored in META.yml or META.json.	 You should not	alter the
       metadata	in this	hash; use a MetaProvider plugin	instead.

   prereqs
       This is a Dist::Zilla::Prereqs object, which is a thin layer atop
       CPAN::Meta::Prereqs, and	describes the distribution's prerequisites.

   logger
       This attribute stores a Log::Dispatchouli::Proxy	object,	used to	log
       messages.  By default, a	proxy to the dist's Chrome is taken.

       The following methods are delegated from	the Dist::Zilla	object to the
       logger:

       o   log

       o   log_debug

       o   log_fatal

METHODS
   register_prereqs
       Allows registration of prerequisites; delegates to "register_prereqs"
       in Dist::Zilla::Prereqs via our "prereqs" attribute.

   plugin_named
	 my $plugin = $zilla->plugin_named( $plugin_name );

   plugins_with
	 my $roles = $zilla->plugins_with( -SomeRole );

       This method returns an arrayref containing all the Dist::Zilla object's
       plugins that perform the	named role.  If	the given role name begins
       with a dash, the	dash is	replaced with "Dist::Zilla::Role::"

   find_files
	 my $files = $zilla->find_files( $finder_name );

       This method will	look for a FileFinder-performing plugin	with the given
       name and	return the result of calling "find_files" on it.  If no	plugin
       can be found, an	exception will be raised.

   stash_named
	 my $stash = $zilla->stash_named( $name	);

       This method will	return the stash with the given	name, or undef if none
       exists.	It looks for a local stash (for	this dist) first, then falls
       back to a global	stash (from the	user's global configuration).

STABILITY PROMISE
       None.

       I will try not to break things within any major release.	 Minor
       releases	are not	extensively tested before release.  In major releases,
       anything	goes, although I will try to publish a complete	list of	known
       breaking	changes	in any major release.

       If Dist::Zilla was a tool, it would have	yellow and black stripes and
       there would be no UL certification
       <https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UL_(safety_organization)>	on it.	It is
       nasty, brutish, and large.

SUPPORT
       There are usually people	on "irc.perl.org" in "#distzilla", even	if
       they're idling.

       The Dist::Zilla website <http://dzil.org/> has several valuable
       resources for learning to use Dist::Zilla.

       There is	a mailing list to discuss Dist::Zilla.	You can	join the list
       <http://www.listbox.com/subscribe/?list_id=139292> or browse the
       archives	<http://listbox.com/member/archive/139292>.

SEE ALSO
       o   In the Dist::Zilla distribution:

	   o   Plugin bundles: @Basic, @Filter.

	   o   Major plugins: GatherDir, Prereqs, AutoPrereqs, MetaYAML,
	       MetaJSON, ...

       o   On the CPAN:

	   o   Search for plugins:
	       <https://metacpan.org/search?q=Dist::Zilla::Plugin::>

	   o   Search for plugin bundles:
	       <https://metacpan.org/search?q=Dist::Zilla::PluginBundle::>

AUTHOR
       Ricardo SIGNES dh <rjbs@semiotic.systems>

CONTRIBUTORS
       o   Avar	ArnfjA<paragraph>rA<degree> Bjarmason <avarab@gmail.com>

       o   Alastair McGowan-Douglas <alastair.mcgowan@opusvl.com>

       o   Alceu Rodrigues de Freitas Junior <glasswalk3r@yahoo.com.br>

       o   Alexei Znamensky <russoz@cpan.org>

       o   Alex	Vandiver <alexmv@mit.edu>

       o   ambs	<ambs@cpan.org>

       o   Andrew Rodland <andrew@hbslabs.com>

       o   Andy	Jack <andyjack@cpan.org>

       o   Apocalypse <APOCAL@cpan.org>

       o   ben hengst <ben.hengst@gmail.com>

       o   Bernardo Rechea <brbpub@gmail.com>

       o   Brian Fraser	<fraserbn@gmail.com>

       o   Caleb Cushing <xenoterracide@gmail.com>

       o   Chase Whitener <cwhitener@gmail.com>

       o   Chisel <chisel@chizography.net>

       o   Christian Walde <walde.christian@googlemail.com>

       o   Christopher Bottoms <molecules@users.noreply.github.com>

       o   Christopher J. Madsen <cjm@cjmweb.net>

       o   Chris Weyl <cweyl@alumni.drew.edu>

       o   Cory	G Watson <gphat@onemogin.com>

       o   csjewell <perl@csjewell.fastmail.us>

       o   Curtis Brandt <curtisjbrandt@gmail.com>

       o   Dagfinn Ilmari MannsAYker <ilmari@ilmari.org>

       o   Damien KRotkine <dkrotkine@booking.com>

       o   Dan Book <grinnz@gmail.com>

       o   Daniel BA<paragraph>hmer <post@daniel-boehmer.de>

       o   Danijel Tasov <dt@korn.shell.la>

       o   Dave	Lambley	<dave@lambley.me.uk>

       o   Dave	O'Neill	<dmo@dmo.ca>

       o   Dave	Rolsky <autarch@urth.org>

       o   David E. Wheeler <david@justatheory.com>

       o   David Golden	<dagolden@cpan.org>

       o   David H. Adler <dha@pobox.com>

       o   David Steinbrunner <dsteinbrunner@pobox.com>

       o   David Zurborg <port@david-zurb.org>

       o   Davor Cubranic <cubranic@stat.ubc.ca>

       o   Dimitar Petrov <mitakaa@gmail.com>

       o   Doug	Bell <doug@preaction.me>

       o   Doug	Bell <madcityzen@gmail.com>

       o   Erik	Carlsson <info@code301.com>

       o   Fayland Lam <fayland@gmail.com>

       o   Felix Ostmann <felix.ostmann@gmail.com>

       o   Florian Ragwitz <rafl@debian.org>

       o   Fred	Moyer <fred@redhotpenguin.com>

       o   fREW	Schmidt	<frioux@gmail.com>

       o   gardnerm <gardnerm@gsicommerce.com>

       o   Gianni Ceccarelli <gianni.ceccarelli@net-a-porter.com>

       o   Graham Barr <gbarr@pobox.com>

       o   Graham Knop <haarg@haarg.org>

       o   Graham Ollis	<perl@wdlabs.com>

       o   Graham Ollis	<plicease@cpan.org>

       o   Grzegorz RoA1/4niecki <xaerxess@gmail.com>

       o   HAYkon HA|gland <hakon.hagland@gmail.com>

       o   Hans	Dieter Pearcey <hdp@weftsoar.net>

       o   Hunter McMillen <mcmillhj@gmail.com>

       o   Ivan	Bessarabov <ivan@bessarabov.ru>

       o   Jakob Voss <jakob@nichtich.de>

       o   jantore <jantore@32k.org>

       o   JA(C)rA'me Quelin <jquelin@gmail.com>

       o   Jesse Luehrs	<doy@tozt.net>

       o   Jesse Vincent <jesse@bestpractical.com>

       o   JJ Merelo <jjmerelo@gmail.com>

       o   John	Napiorkowski <jjnapiork@cpan.org>

       o   jonasbn <jonasbn@gmail.com>

       o   Jonathan C. Otsuka <djgoku@gmail.com>

       o   Jonathan Rockway <jrockway@cpan.org>

       o   Jonathan Scott Duff <duff@pobox.com>

       o   Jonathan Yu <jawnsy@cpan.org>

       o   Karen Etheridge <ether@cpan.org>

       o   Kent	Fredric	<kentfredric@gmail.com>

       o   Kent	Fredric	<kentnl@gentoo.org>

       o   Leon	Timmermans <fawaka@gmail.com>

       o   Lucas Theisen <lucastheisen@pastdev.com>

       o   Luc St-Louis	<lucs@pobox.com>

       o   Marcel Gruenauer <hanekomu@gmail.com>

       o   Martin McGrath <mcgrath.martin@gmail.com>

       o   Mary	Ehlers <regina.verb.ae@gmail.com>

       o   Mateu X Hunter <hunter@missoula.org>

       o   Matthew Horsfall <wolfsage@gmail.com>

       o   mauke <l.mai@web.de>

       o   Michael Conrad <mike@nrdvana.net>

       o   Michael G. Schwern <schwern@pobox.com>

       o   Michael Jemmeson <mjemmeson@cpan.org>

       o   Mickey Nasriachi <mickey@cpan.org>

       o   Mike	Doherty	<mike@mikedoherty.ca>

       o   Mohammad S Anwar <mohammad.anwar@yahoo.com>

       o   Moritz Onken	<onken@netcubed.de>

       o   Neil	Bowers <neil@bowers.com>

       o   Nickolay Platonov <nickolay@desktop.(none)>

       o   Nick	Tonkin <1nickt@users.noreply.github.com>

       o   nperez <nperez@cpan.org>

       o   Olivier MenguA(C) <dolmen@cpan.org>

       o   Paul	Cochrane <paul@liekut.de>

       o   Pedro Melo <melo@simplicidade.org>

       o   perlancar (@pc-office) <perlancar@gmail.com>

       o   Philippe Bruhat (BooK) <book@cpan.org>

       o   raf <68724930+rafork@users.noreply.github.com>

       o   Randy Stauner <rwstauner@cpan.org>

       o   Ricardo Signes <rjbs@cpan.org>

       o   robertkrimen	<robertkrimen@gmail.com>

       o   Rob Hoelz <rob@hoelz.ro>

       o   Robin SmidsrA,d <robin@smidsrod.no>

       o   Roy Ivy III <rivy@cpan.org>

       o   Shawn M Moore <sartak@gmail.com>

       o   Shlomi Fish <shlomif@shlomifish.org>

       o   Smylers <Smylers@stripey.com>

       o   Steffen Schwigon <ss5@renormalist.net>

       o   Steven Haryanto <stevenharyanto@gmail.com>

       o   Tatsuhiko Miyagawa <miyagawa@bulknews.net>

       o   Upasana Shukla <me@upasana.me>

       o   Vyacheslav Matjukhin	<mmcleric@yandex-team.ru>

       o   Yanick Champoux <yanick@babyl.dyndns.org>

       o   Yuval Kogman	<nothingmuch@woobling.org>

COPYRIGHT AND LICENSE
       This software is	copyright (c) 2021 by Ricardo SIGNES.

       This is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify it under
       the same	terms as the Perl 5 programming	language system	itself.

perl v5.32.1			  2021-06-14			Dist::Zilla(3)

NAME | VERSION | DESCRIPTION | PERL VERSION SUPPORT | ATTRIBUTES | METHODS | STABILITY PROMISE | SUPPORT | SEE ALSO | AUTHOR | CONTRIBUTORS | COPYRIGHT AND LICENSE

Want to link to this manual page? Use this URL:
<https://www.freebsd.org/cgi/man.cgi?query=Dist::Zilla&sektion=3&manpath=FreeBSD+13.0-RELEASE+and+Ports>

home | help